Life

Welcome to LIFE

LIFE covers Personal Social Health and Economic Education.
It is taught through VMG and across the curriculum
In Years 7 to 10 students are taught one lesson a week throughout the year.

Why are ‘Life’ lessons important?

‘Life’ is a process of individual self-development and the development of others.
‘Life’ lessons encourage students to reflect on their past and consider their future. They enable students to acquire the knowledge, understanding and skills they need to manage their lives and understand the world they live in. They develop the qualities and attributes that they need to thrive as individuals, family members and members of society. In global terms, ‘Life’ lessons also educate students as to the plight of others and encourage them to consider how they can improve or enhance others’ lives.
All the units of work are planned to deliver provision to:

  • Develop the learner’s self-awareness and self-management to become successful learners who are able to live safe, healthy and fulfilling lives.
  • Emphasise the importance of individual rights and responsibilities.
  • Support them in developing as members of communities. To become responsible citizens who make a positive contribution to society.
  • Encouraging them to develop a voice in learning and in the life and work of the school. Identifying strengths, talents and potential to make progress and achieve.
  • Enable students to transfer and generalise ideas across different contexts.

Some sessions are delivered by external providers to allow students to have the best possible information and provision from specialist in that subject area.

Litkoeweeivfetnvfa0d

Overview of LIFE across KS3 and KS4

Wujqddrwebhmwnug8vmo

Meet the Team

Zek70qworlmpmn04jzxm

Miss Holly Findlay

Teacher of Life h.findlay@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Tcrpgg13supjiruxyhip

Mr Alex Pearson

Teacher of Life a.pearson@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Jtuotk20fzmlkascujwt

Mr Chris Gabraitis

Teacher of Life c.gabraitis@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

A98utklxqldiyiworegj

Mr Mike Rooke

Teacher of Life m.rooke@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Wpvjy3lzuyiqiflzabck

Mr Phil Jeffries

Teacher of Life p.jeffries@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Tqgsqufcygswamidtns0

Mrs Dawn Wragg

Teacher of Life d.wragg@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Uz6rge9kxj1ny3ltb9gl

Mrs Esther Littlewood

Teacher of Life e.littlewood@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Xhwlfdf9x6iq7ubyvcjv

Mrs Gill Burgin

Teacher of Life g.burgin@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Qp2bqgiczz6wtyam65bb

Mrs Jayne Carr

Head of Department j.carr@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Svyjcnvzgluzwpyqe0m9

Mrs Jo Capps

Teacher of Life j.capps@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Uzyo6ndatjuismgvvm6m

Mrs Linda Dodd

Teacher of Life l.dodd@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Tp83eb03g7bg8u1zr8bt

Mrs Lucy Walker

Teacher of Life l.walker@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Vlyhlbzzzqtahhjynigc

Mrs Naomi Ryan

Teacher of Life n.ryan@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Jchdfynokjifjomr8ncu

Mrs Shari Fletcher

Teacher of Life s.fletcher@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More

Elkdhqwyzhjypowahqdg

Mrs Tracey Allen

Teacher of Life t.allen@shafton.outwood.com

Find Out More